Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Total Explosion Limited Vinyl LP

Syl Johnson

Label: Fat Possum / Hi Records
Release Date: 25 August 2014
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Total Explosion Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £15.99

Syl Johnson Total Explosion Limited Vinyl LP

· During his eight-year stint with Hi Records, Syl Johnson was in the shadows of both Al Green and Ann Peebles. As this album’s predecessors had Johnson vacillating between being a romantic and a wretch, ‘Total Explosion’ explores his
unrepentant side with good results.
· The album’s biggest single was Johnson’s sloweddown take on Green’s ‘Take Me To The River’. Although the religious / sexual imagery is lost in the translation, Johnson does a good job with it.
· The best track, the brilliantly arranged ‘Watch What You Do To Me’ has Johnson playing the role of cuckold and as he sings “I carry my piece, everywhere I go,” it certainly made him more of a menace than a romantic balladeer.
· ‘Total Explosion’ was Johnson’s most successful album at Hi Records and was one of the best in the label’s catalogue.

Featured Tracks:
1. I Only Have Love
2. Bustin' Up Or Bustin' Out
3. Star Bright Star Lite
4. Watch What You Do To Me
5. Steppin' Out
6. Take Me To The River
7. It Ain't Easy
8. Bout To Make Me Leave Home
9. That's Just My Luck
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal