Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Flying Scroll Flight Control Limited Vinyl LP

Half-handed Cloud

Label: Asthmatic Kitty Records
Release Date: 30 June 2014
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Flying Scroll Flight Control Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £14.99

Half-handed Cloud Flying Scroll Flight Control Limited Vinyl LP

· Half-handed Cloud’s ‘Flying Scroll Flight Control’ presents Dada interior-architectural songs, in the mode of Kurt Schwitters’ ‘Merzbau’, the sound of Robert Rauschenberg’s cardboard combines, interrupted by Futurist noise intoner music of collision. They’re integrated with the radiant flicker of Stan Brakhage’s domestic / personal 1960s art films, the mechanized music of Conlon Nancarrow, Mister Rogers’ avant-garde children’s operas and the methods of Grunge era hometaping alchemists Eric’s Trip, with scriptures giving voice to the unknown.
· The album features a 5-person female choir, manipulated recording tape, fuzz bass, clarinet, some piano, a child’s Magnus air organ, rhythmic zipper, trombone, a cushioned Stylophone stick and intermittent backpacker guitar.
· Mixed by Sufjan Stevens.
· Mastered by John Dieterich (from Deerhoof).
· “Sometimes, the songs have an appeal reminiscent of a hypercaffeinated Shins, with the addition of a refined sense of quirkiness that evokes a Mark Mothersbaugh score for a Wes Anderson movie.” - Pitchfork
· “The usual intricate assortment of horns, pianos and
marimbas return to fill out the sonic tableau but the
synthesized textures push Ringhofer toward a delightfully idiosyncratic white-boy soul aesthetic.” - Paste Magazine

Featured Tracks:
1. Pneumatic Mystery Envelopes
2. Sensei Says
3. What Spins, By Your Hand Was Spun
4. Debtors to Greeks & Barbarians
5. Titus Three
6. We Toil and Struggle
7. He's Already On Everyone's Side
8. Psychic Failure, Utmost Patience
9. Enlightenment in the Way
10. Even If Angels Arrive With Plausible News
11. Fetus, I Am Not Out of My Mind
12. He Can't Deny Himself
13. We Speak of What We Know
14. Live As the Children of Light Inside of You
15. Secret Wisdom Intervening
16. Tablets Breathing Their Last Breath
17. Now the Veiled Faces Can Breathe
18. Flying Scroll Flight Patrol
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal