skip to main content

615 To Fame Limited Vinyl LP


Release Date: 09 February 2015

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Names Records


STEELISM 615 To Fame Limited Vinyl LP

New to Nashville's music scene are two extraordinary young musicians—one American, one Englishman—at the helm of instrumental band Steelism. Jeremy Fetzer on guitar and Spencer Cullum on pedal steel are joined by a team of the finest young musicians in Nashville. Following in the traditions of instrumental artists such as Herb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass, Ennio Morricone and Booker T. & the M.G.’s, Steelism let their instruments do the talking, creating intoxicating melodies and hooks that are thoroughly modern, with a nod to their instrumentalist forebears. Signed in the US by Alabama based Single Lock Records founded by Ben Tanner (Alabama Shakes), John Paul White (The Civil Wars) and Will Trapp, 615 To Fame will be released in Europe by London based Names Records (Caitlin Rose, Alela Diane, She Keeps Bees). Cullum and Fetzer first met in Nashville, performing in backing bands for artists including Caitlin Rose, Wanda Jackson, Jonny Fritz, Rayland Baxter and Andrew Combs, among others. In one another they discovered a mutual enthusiasm for instrumental pop music across genres—country, surf rock, reggae, psychedelic, jazz, funk and soul. “We’ve always been into the idea of playing a strong melody—something you can hum—rather than soloing,” said Cullum. “Steelism allows us to write and play in a way that crosses genres to tell our own stories, rather than supporting someone else’s songs as side-men,” added Fetzer. Produced and arranged by Cullum and Fetzer, 615 to FAME is a nuanced, mature exploration of their combined sensibilities, featuring 11 songs, 10 of which are original compositions. They write catchy tunes with memorable hooks so strong you don't miss the fact that there aren’t any vocals. "Cats Eye Ring," "Marfa Lights" and "The Landlocked Surfer" are but 3 examples from the new album that illustrate their creative range. Single Lock’s Ben Tanner, who mixed the record and co-produced half the album, explained, "Great instrumental rock and roll, sadly, has become a lost art, but Steelism are resurrecting that tradition and adding new chapters of their own. They may not have a singer, but they certainly have great things to say."

Featured Tracks:
1. Cats Eye Ring
2. The Blind Beggar
3. The Landlocked Surfer
4. China Plate
5. Tears Of Isabella
6. Marfa Lights
7. Caught In A Pickle
8. The Spook
9. Ladybird
10. Cuban Missile
11. Greenwich Meantime