Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Why Do Heathen Rage? Limited Pink Deluxe Vinyl LP + Download Code

The Soft Pink Truth

Label: Thrill Jockey
Release Date: 16 June 2014
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Why Do Heathen Rage? Limited Pink Deluxe Vinyl LP + Download Code To Basket £12.99

The Soft Pink Truth Why Do Heathen Rage? Limited Pink Deluxe Vinyl LP + Download Code

· The Soft Pink Truth is the solo alter ego of Drew Daniel,
one half of celebrated Baltimore-based electronic duo Matmos.
· After a decade of silence in which Daniel concentrated on
Matmos and becoming a Shakespeare professor, The Soft
Pink Truth is set to release ‘Why Do The Heathen Rage?’,
whose subtitle ‘Electronic Profanations Of Black Metal
Classics’ reveals its bizarre agenda as an unrequited love
letter to a justly divisive genre.
· A gleeful queer travesty of black metal’s undying obsession with kvlt authenticity, ‘Why Do The Heathen Rage?’ is also a formally precise homage executed with a scholar’s
obsession. With the guitar chord transcription assistance of
Owen Gardner (Teeth Mountain, Horse Lords) and a coven of guest vocalists including Antony Hegarty (Antony And The Johnsons), Terence Hannum (Locrian), Jenn Wasner (Wye Oak) and M.C. Schmidt (Matmos), Daniel meticulously transposes the riffs, structures and patterns of black metal chestnuts and deep cuts by Darkthrone, Venom, Mayhem, Sarcofago, Beherit and more into oddly hybrid new forms. Cruising camp absurdity by forcing a sticky tryst between the two mutually incongruous early 90s subcultures of rave and black metal, the results are bracingly strange on first listen but curiously addictive as the album sinks in.
· Deluxe LP version includes pink metallic foiling on cover,
printed inner sleeve and free download card. The first 666
vinyl copies are pressed on pink vinyl with the remaining
copies on black with metallic pink printing.

Featured Tracks:
1. Invocation for Strength
2. Black Metal
3. Sadomatic Rites
4. Ready to F**k
5. Satanic Black Devotion
6. Beholding the Throne of Might
7. Let There Be Ebola Frost
8. Buried By Time and Dust
9. Maniac
10. Grim and Frostbitten Gay Bar
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal