Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Secret Soundz Vol 1 & 3 Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

The Pictish Trail

Label: Moshi Moshi
Release Date: 09 June 2014
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Secret Soundz Vol 1 & 3 Limited Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £16.99

The Pictish Trail Secret Soundz Vol 1 & 3 Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

Johnny Lynch, aka The Pictish Trail, is something of a conundrum. On first impressions, he’s a self-deprecating hairy hobo whose on-stage banter could give many comedians a run for their money. But once he begins to sing, Lynch’s extraordinary vocals reveal hidden depths that can subdue the most rowdy of audiences into a blissfully hypnotised silence. Having recently signed to Moshi Moshi Records, Lynch is pleased to announce that his gloriously eclectic and critically acclaimed albums Secret Soundz Volumes 1 & 2 will be getting a full release on June 9th. The double album will be available on limited gatefold 12” vinyl, gatefold CD and digitally. Lynch’s eloquent songs are as wildly varied as his selection of brightly coloured bobble hats. His distinctive voice has been accompanied by everything from acoustic guitar to a full-on four piece metal band to throbbing dance beats and samples, and often during the course of the same gig. With two albums, numerous mini-albums, EPs, and singles under his belt as The Pictish Trail, Lynch has also moonlighted as one half of demented dance-pop duo Silver Columns with Adem (Fridge) for their 2010 album Yes and Dance. It’s this innovative, genre-defying approach that’s seen him mentioned in the same breath as his heroes Beck, The Beta Band and Hot Chip. He even joined the likes of Jarvis Cocker, Franz Ferdinand and Charlotte Gainsbourg as part of the line-up for Beck’s Song Reader live concert in London in 2013.

Not one to rest on his laurels, Lynch is also busy running his own musical empire from the remote Hebridean island Eigg (56°54’N, 06°10’W) he calls home. Following ten successful years running Fife’s infamous Fence Records, last year, Lynch moved on to pastures new and founded Scotland’s most exciting new label Lost Map Records. He’s also putting on the inaugural Howlin’ Fling Festival on Eigg in July.

The Pictish Trail will head out on tour in May and will be hosting a Lost Map showcase in London on May 18th with Tuff Love, Monoganon, comedian Josie Long and more special guests TBA. Full live dates below.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Secret Sound #2
2. All I Own
3. I Don't Know Where To Begin
4. Secret Sound #1
5. Words Fail Me Now
6. Ribbon (The Twist)
7. Winter Home Disco
8. The Lighthouse
9. Into The Smoke
10. Secret Sound #5

Disc: 2
1. Secret Sound #6
2. Sequels
3. Of Course You Exist
4. The Handstand Crowd
5. Wait Until
6. I've Been Set Upon
7. Michael Rocket
8. Secret Sound #7
9. I Will Pour It Down
10. Long In The Tooth
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal