Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

A Letter Home Limited Deluxe Vinyl Box Set

Neil Young

Label: Warner Bros
Release Date: 06 May 2014
Format: Box Set Heavy

Special Offer 

Out of Stock £114.99
NOW £59.99! Save £55.00

Neil Young A Letter Home Limited Deluxe Vinyl Box Set


Young recorded the collection of covers with White on a refurbished 1947 Voice-O-Graph recording booth at Third Man's Nashville headquarters. Imagine a very simple recording studio not much larger than a phone booth and you’ll get the idea. He describes the album as "an unheard collection of rediscovered songs from the past recorded on ancient electro-mechanical technology captures and unleashes the essence of something that could have been gone forever." Recorded live to track to one-track, mono, the album has an inherent warm, primitive feel of a vintage Folkways recording,

As for the track-listing, Young chose songs that have personal meaning for him, such as Bert Jansch’s ‘Needle of Death’ (which inspired Young to write 1972’s ‘Needle and the Damage Done’), Bob Dylan’s “Girl from the North Country”, Willie Nelson’s ‘Crazy’, Don Everly’s ‘I Wonder If I Care as Much’, Bruce Springsteen’s ‘My Home Town’ and many others.

The album begins with Neil Young recording a spoken letter to his late mother, informing her of his personal and present state of affairs which sets the tone and atmosphere for the duration of the album. He does this once again at the beginning of Side 2 in a way which could explain why he’s selected these particular songs to record. In essence, this presentation is, as its title implies, ‘A Letter Home’ from Neil. This is a deeply personal and expressive listening experience which is as real and raw emotionally as it is sonically and yet light of touch in its form and flow.

Standard audio LP pressed on 180-gram black vinyl
Audiophile LP pressed on 180-gram black vinyl
Standard audio CD
DVD with footage from the recording
12" x 12", 32-page full colour booklet
Seven 6” vinyl discs pressed on clear vinyl. The 7th disc of this set features a version of Dylan’s
"Blowin' In The Wind" backed with an alternate take / arrangement of "Crazy"

Featured Tracks:
1. A Letter Home Intro
2. Changes
3. Girl From The North Country
4. Needle Of Death
5. Early Morning Rain
6. Crazy
7. Reason To Believe
8. On The Road Again
9. If You Could Read My Mind
10. Since I Met You Baby
11. My Hometown
12. I Wonder If I Care As Much
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal