Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

12 X 5 Limited Clear 180gram Vinyl LP

The Rolling Stones

Label: Abkco
Release Date: 11 May 2014
Format: LP Vinyl

Out of Stock £19.99

The Rolling Stones 12 X 5 Limited Clear 180gram Vinyl LP

Plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings on 180-gram clear vinyl

As the Rolling Stones roll on with their "50 and Counting" tour, celebrating their 50-year anniversary, ABKCO is continuing to roll out their reissue series "The Rolling Stones Clearly Classic" on 180-gram clear vinyl. The series showcases the artistic heights the band reached in the late '60s and early '70s. This copy of 12 x 5 was plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings for exceptional sound quality.

12 X 5 includes material recorded by the Stones at Chicago's Chess Studios (home to the band's idols Muddy Waters and Howlin' Wolf) on their first US tour. Though this document of the group's early R&B period kicks off with a couple of covers from unsurprising sources (Chuck Berry's "Around and Around,") Mick and Keith waste little time in displaying their own compositional acumen. The acoustic-based, bluesy "Good Times, Bad Times" harkens back to even earlier, more seminal Stones influences than Berry, as does the instrumental "2120 South Michigan Avenue," where the blues-obsessed Jagger's harp is featured a la his hero Little Walter.

The downbeat, Arthur Alexanderish "Congratulations" is an effective expression of romantic melancholy, complete with acoustic guitar solo. The slide guitar chords on "Grown Up Wrong" echo another early blues influence, Elmore James. The milestones on this album are two R&B covers to which the Stones take more than a rote approach, "It's All Over Now" and the majestic "Time Is On My Side," which they make completely their own.

Featured Tracks:
1. Around And Around
2. Confessiní The Blues
3. Empty Heart
4. Time Is On My Side
5. Good Times, Bad Times
6. Itís All Over Now
7. 2120 South Michigan Avenue
8. Under The Boardwalk
9. Congratulations
10. Grown Up Wrong
11. If You Need Me
12. Susie Q
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal