Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Loose Power Limited Vinyl LP

Survival Knife

Release Date: 28 April 2014
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Loose Power Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £12.99

Survival Knife Loose Power Limited Vinyl LP

· When Unwound broke up in 2002, the pioneering post rock
band left a hole in the musical firmament that dozens of acts have been trying and failing to patch up in the years since. Try as they might, they could never quite reach the perfect balance of tension and release, spiny and smooth that made the Olympia-based trio’s work so damn powerful.
· Bringing together two ex-Unwound bandmates Justin Trosper
and Brandt Sandeno, Survival Knife is another bracing and
energetic shot to the dome by these singular songwriters and
one that they are eager to embrace.
· Getting to this point, however, took some doing. Unlike all of his former musical brethren, singer / guitarist Trosper didn’t have any interest in music after Unwound split. Instead, he moved to Los Angeles for a stretch, going to school and helping other bands with recording projects. After returning to his hometown of Olympia, the itch to take up his guitar against the world returned and, with the help of longtime musical companion Sandeno and his friends Kris Cunningham (drums) and Meg Cunningham (bass), Survival Knife was born.
· The first major statement to arrive from Survival Knife is ‘Loose Power’, the band’s debut full length, released on Glacial Pace Recordings. Recorded with Stuart Hallerman (Soundgarden, Earth) and Matt Buscher, the album ably weds the riffage of classic rock outfits like Blue Oyster Cult and Led Zeppelin with the feverish angular pulse of contemporaries such as Fugazi and Blonde Redhead.
· The quartet have already garnered a great deal of attention. The West Coast has already had a taste of what Survival Knife has to offer thanks to plenty of NW dates and a tour the band did last year with Modest Mouse. And the world has been well primed thanks to the band’s 7” releases on Sub Pop and Kill Rock Stars. Once ‘Loose Power’ is in the world, there will be little hope of holding back and soon we’ll all be following Survival Knife into the abyss.

Featured Tracks:
1. Divine Mob
2. Fell Runner
3. Gold Widow
4. Cut the Quick
5. Roman Fever
6. Loose Power
7. Heaven Has No Eyes
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal