Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

BACK FROM HELL Limited Edition Gatefold Red Vinyl 2LP Set


Label: High Roller
Release Date: 31 March 2014
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add BACK FROM HELL Limited Edition Gatefold Red Vinyl 2LP Set To Basket £24.99

BLITZKRIEG BACK FROM HELL Limited Edition Gatefold Red Vinyl 2LP Set

There is no doubt that Leicestershire's Blitzkrieg is one of the most enduring (and popular) acts of the entire New Wave Of British Heavy Metal period. They formed in late 1980 under the original name of Split Image. However, when charismatic frontman Brian Ross arrived, their moniker quickly changed to Blitzkrieg. Newcastle-based label Neat Records issued the band's first 7" single Buried alive in 1981. The single was an instant hit due to the catchy B-side “Blitzkrieg” (even more so when Metallica placed a cover version of the song on the flipside of their 1984 Creeping Death 12" EP).

However, it took the band until 1985 to release their first album entitled A Time of Changes. It was a more than decent traditional British metal album but by the mid-1980s the momentum of the N.W.O.B.H.M. had already gone. Thus Blitzkrieg did not reach the status of Iron Maiden, Saxon or even Diamond Head. Nevertheless, Brian Ross never wavered and kept the spirit of Blitzkrieg alive (although with ever changing line-ups). The band never split up and kept on releasing high-quality studio albums throughout the decades and appeared live whenever possible (e.g. at the legendary Headbangers Open Air festival).

Back from Hell (the band's ninth studio album all in all) marks the return of the mighty Blitzkrieg. The current line-up consists of original founding member Brian Ross (vocals), his son Alan Ross (guitars), Ken Johnson (guitars), Bill Baxter (bass) and Mick Kerrigan (drums). The album contains all new tracks (apart from a new version of “Buried alive” plus a cover version of Metallica's “Seek and Destroy”).

The limited edition High Roller vinyl issue of Back from Hell comes in a neat gatefold sleeve and contains no less than six exclusive bonus tracks.

Featured Tracks:
01. Jack's Back
02. Back from Hell
03. Buried Alive
04. Complicated Issue
05. V
06. Return to the Village
07. Sahara
08. 4 U
09. One Last Time
10. Call for the Priest
11. Sleepy Hollow
12. S&D
13. We Have Assumed Control
14. Dark City
15. Escape From the Village
16. We'll Rock Forever
17. The Wraith
18. Call for the Priest
19. Complicated Issue
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal