Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

The Super Chief: Music For The Silver Screen Limited Vinyl LP + CD

Van Dyke Parks

Label: Bella Union
Release Date: 03 March 2014
Format: LP Vinyl

Add The Super Chief: Music For The Silver Screen Limited Vinyl LP + CD To Basket £16.99

Van Dyke Parks The Super Chief: Music For The Silver Screen Limited Vinyl LP + CD

· ‘Super Chief: Music For The Silver Screen’ is an ‘orchestral fantasy’ inspired by a rail journey Van Dyke embarked upon across the United States in 1955.
· Originally made available for the first time on a very
limited vinyl pressing in 2013. Now re-pressed, following
an almost immediate sell out of the original pressing.
· LP features a copy of the album on CD.
· In Van Dyke Parks’ own words: “I’ve made an orchestral
fantasy illustrating my first trip across the USA by rail, in 1955. This Suite is drawn from over a score of years, and
as many films, now re-recorded from my archives as a
film-music composer. […] In editing, I was surprised to
discover my penchant for folk themes, reframed in orchestral settings. (There are countless quotes from the 19th century ‘The American Century’). […] The lingo of such traditional American music reveals my obsession, however unconscious, for rustic old saws that can still cut the wood. Yep, it’s Americana. All made in the great 48. […] Celtic examples abound: ‘The Water Is Wide’, ‘Old Joe Clark’, ‘The Forked Deer’, ‘Saint Anne’s Reel’, ‘I Ride An Old Paint’, etc. With these references, a dash of lowchurch hymns (‘Goin’ Home’) and an occasional Aboriginal motif, all embedded in this novel and singular Ode to that passing American scene... so long ago, yet about a handshake away. […] It can come in handy as a backdrop to a romantic interlude in candle-lit dinner conversation over a fine linen-count. (I’ve tried this at home.) Perhaps for a head-set in a subway tunnel, or as a car-tune in a smooth segue from the surrounding road-rage on a daily commute.”

Featured Tracks:
1. The Super Chief
2. The Super Chief
3. The Dining Car
4. The Pleasure Dome
5. Bar Talk
6. Joan Crawford
7. Last Call
8. Into the Gloaming
9. Crack of Dawn
10. Flats As a Platte
11. Old Joe Clark
12. The Water Is Wide
13. I Ride an Old Paint Horse
14. Iron Horse
15. Teepee Motel
16. By Campground
17. Forgotten Not Gone
18. The Continental Divide
19. Just Yonder
20. Virgin Territory
21. A Spanish Kitchen
22. Bolero Torero
23. The Road Runner and Rattler
24. Bed of Stones
25. So Long Sante Fe
26. Crossing the Colorado
27. A Date With Valentino
28. A Short Chat With Miss Crawford
29. The Joshua Tree
30. Chateau Marmont
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal