Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Thorns vs Emperor Limited 180gram Heavyweight Vinyl LP

Thorns vs Emperor

Release Date: 10 March 2014
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Thorns vs Emperor Limited 180gram Heavyweight Vinyl LP To Basket £16.99

Thorns vs Emperor Self Titled Limited 180gram Heavyweight Vinyl LP

Split release from two of the titans of the Norwegian black metal world. Presented on 180gm heavyweight black vinyl.

Originally formed in 1989 by mastermind Snorre Ruch, Marius Vold, and Bård Faust (Emperor), Norwegian band Thorns has inspired a great number of acts such as Satyricon, Mayhem, Dissection, and Emperor, mainly due to Snorre's highly influential style of playing and creating riffs on the early Thorns demo tapes. So impressed was Euronymous of Mayhem, that Snorre became second guitarist in the band for a while and his riffs were used in classic Mayhem tracks.

The Thorns part of this release mainly features reworked and re-recorded versions of cult demo tracks which had been swarming the underground for years. The songs were given a new, clean and powerful lease of life with the razor sharp and chilling riffs. New samples and effects were also added to further the dark and strange atmosphere, lending a slight industrial texture to some parts.

Emperor show their wizardry with classical, industrial and electronic renditions of their own - and Thorns - material; a highlight of which is a stellar metallic cover of the Thorns black metal classic, 'Ærie Descent'. This was from a time when Emperor was highly active and one of the leading forces in the metal world.

Featured Tracks:
Aerie Descent
Melas Khole
Aerie Descent
Thus March The Night Spirit
I Am
The Discipline Of Earth
Cosmic Keys To My Creations And Times
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal