Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Ascenseur Pour L'Echafaud Limited 180gram Audiophile 2LP Set

Miles Davis

Label: Music on Vinyl
Release Date: 27 September 2011
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Ascenseur Pour L'Echafaud Limited 180gram Audiophile 2LP Set To Basket £19.99

Miles Davis Ascenseur Pour L'Echafaud Limited 180gram Audiophile 2LP Set

Ascenseur Pour L'échafaud is a 1958 French film directed by Louis Malle. It was released as "Lift to the Scaffold" in the UK. The film was nothing special, but it did accomplish one thing: it proposed a new ideal of cinematic realism, a new way to look at a woman.
Jean-Paul Rappeneau, a jazz fan and Malle's assistant at the time, suggested asking Miles Davis to create the film's Soundtrack.
He showed Davis a screening of the movie, and afterwards Miles knew exactly how to portray the smoky hazed or frantic scenes through sonic imagery. On December 4 1957, he brought four French Jazzmen (Barney Wilen / tenor saxophone, René Urtreger / piano, Pierre Michelot – bass and Kenny Clarke – drums) to the recording studio "Le Poste Parisien Studio" without having them prepare anything. Davis only gave the musicians a few rudimentary harmonic sequences he had assembled in his hotel room.
Eventually "Ascenseur Pour L'échafaud" has become a great achievement of artistic excellence.

For the first time since its original release in 1958, Music On Vinyl combined the original soundtrack and the additional recordings and created an essential 2LP set with the original artwork.

Featured Tracks:
Side 1: (ORIGINAL 1958 A-SIDE)
01 Générique
02 L'Assassinat De Carala
03 Sur L'Autoroute
04 Julien Dans L'Ascenseur
05 Florence Sur Les Champs-Élysees

Side 2: (ORIGINAL 1958 B-SIDE)
01 Dîner Au Motel
02 Évasion De Julien
03 Visite Du Vigile
04 Au Bar Du Petit Bac
05 Chez Le Photographe Du Mot

Side C:
01 Nuit Sur Les Champs-Élysées (TAKE 1)
02 Nuit Sur Les Champs-Élysées (TAKE 2)
03 Nuit Sur Les Champs-Élysées (TAKE 3)
04 Nuit Sur Les Champs Elysees (TAKE 4)
05 Assassinat Visite Du Vigil
06 Assassinat Julien Dans L'ascenseur
07 Assassinat L'Assassinat De Carala
08 Motel

Side D:
01 Final (TAKE 1)
02 Final (TAKE 2)
03 Final (TAKE 3)
04 Ascenseur
05 Le Petit Bal (TAKE 1)
06 Le Petit Bal (TAKE 2)
07 Séquence Voiture (TAKE 1)
08 Sequence Voiture Sur L'Aut (TAKE 2)
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal