Vinyl Albums from 9.99CD's from 3.99

Outside Society Limited 180gram Audiophile 2LP Set

Patti Smith

Label: Music on Vinyl
Release Date: 19 September 2011
Format: LP Double Vinyl

Add Outside Society Limited 180gram Audiophile 2LP Set To Basket 18.99

Patti Smith Outside Society Limited 180gram Audiophile 2LP Set

For the length of time that Patti Smith has spent as a recording artist, she has a remarkably small catalogue: only ten albums recorded in over three decades.
Yet small as it may be, she still stands as one of the most influential artists of her time.
Despite the fact that she wears the moniker 'Godmother Of Punk' her oeuvre encompasses many styles and is impossible to fence into one genre.
But perhaps we should interpret this badge of honour as a salute to her attitude rather than as a reference to her musical style.
Outside Society, which will be released on vinyl at the same time as a general CD release, is a good presentation of her work as it chronologically explores the entirety of her career, from her first album Horses (MOVLP018) from 1975 to her last; Twelve from 2007, including hits such as 'Gloria', 'Because The Night', 'Dancing Barefoot' and her own intimate rendition of 'Smells Like Teen Spirit'.
It also gives you a good introduction to the artist as a person, as the liner notes are brief recollections of the recordings written by Smith herself.
Available on vinyl from September 5th!

180 grams audiophile vinyl
Liner Notes written by Patti Smith
2LP Set

Featured Tracks:
A1. Gloria (5:52)
A2. Free Money (3:49)
A3. Ain't It Strange (6:35)
A4. Pissing In A River (4:50)

B1. Because The Night (3:23)
B2. Rock N Roll Nigger (4:52)
B3. Dancing Barefoot (4:16)
B4. Frederick (3:02)
B5. So You Want To Be A Rock N Roll Star (4:18)

C1. People Have the Power (5:06)
C2. Up There Down There (4:48)
C3. Beneath The Southern Cross (4:34)
C4. Summer Cannibals (4:09)

D1. 1959 (3:58)
D2. Glitter In Their Eyes (3:03)
D3. Lo and Beholden (4:45)
D4. Smells Like Teen Spirit (6:32)
D5. Trampin' (2:50)
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal