Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Hi Singles A's & B's Limited 180g Audiophile 3LP Set

Ann Pebbles

Label: Music on Vinyl
Release Date: 21 June 2011
Format: LP Triple Vinyl

Add Hi Singles A's & B's Limited 180g Audiophile 3LP Set To Basket £24.99

Ann Pebbles Hi Singles A's & B's Limited 180gram Audiophile 3LP Set

Al Green was the only artist who could outshine Ann Peeblesí star on legendary producer Willie Mitchellís record label Hi Records. Peeblesí raw, Southern Soul touched a nerve by opposing the sugar sweet female mold that many other Soul icons had been forced into. Instead, Ann and her husband David Bryant wrote hits such as ĎI Canít Stand The Rainí, ĎIím Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Downí and ĎBreaking Up Someoneís Homeí. Peeblesí authentic and raw sound, which defined the Memphis Soul movement, was unfortunately drowned out by the Disco movement of the Ď70s and the sale of Hi Records in í77, but luckily the soul revival of latter years meant that there was a reason to dig up all her singles and compile them on The Hi Singles Aís and Bís. The Hi Singles gives a chronological overview of all her singles from 1969 to 1981, and therefore this release gives one of the most comprehensive overviews of her career. Available on vinyl for the first time since its release in 2002!

ē180 grams audiophile vinyl
ēInsert with linernotes

Featured Tracks:
Record 1:
Side A:
A1. Walk Away
A2. I Canít Let You Go
A3. Give Me Some Credit
A4. Solid Foundation
A5. Iíll Get Along
A6. Generation Gap Between Us
A7. Part Time Love
A8. I Still Love You
A9. I Pity The Fool

Side B:
B1. Heartaches Heartaches
B2. Slipped, Tripped And Fell In Love
B3. 99 lbs
B4. Breaking Up Somebodyís Home
B5. Trouble, Heartaches & Sadness
B6. Somebodyís On Your Case
B7. Iíve Been There Before
B8. Iím Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down
B9. One Way Street

Record 2:
Side C:
C1. I Canít Stand The Rain
C2. (You Keep Me) Hanginí On
C3. Run, Run, Run
C4. Do I Need You
C5. A Love Vibration
C6. Put Yourself In My Place
C7. Until You Came Into My Life
C8. Beware

Side D:
D1. You Got To Feed The Fire
D2. Come To Mama
D3. Iím Leaviní You
D4. Dr. Love Power
D5. I Donít Lend My Man
D6. I Needed Somebody
D7. Fill This World With Love
D8. It Was Jealousy

Record 3:
Side E:
E1. If This Is Heaven
E2. When Iím In Your Arms
E3. Old Man With Young Ideas
E4. A Good Day For Loviní
E5. I Didnít Take Your Man
E6. Being Here With You
E7. If You Got The Time (Iíve Got The Love)

Side F:
F1. Let Your Lovelight Shine
F2. Heartaches
F3. Iíd Rather Leave While Iím In Love
F4. Be For Me
F5. Mon Belle, Amour Ė feat. D. Bryant
F6. Waiting Ė feat. D. Bryant
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal