Vinyl Albums from £9.99CD's from £3.99

Suite Shop Limited Vinyl LP

Ambient Jazz Ensemble

Label: Here & Now Recording
Release Date: 24 July 2015
Format: LP Vinyl

Add Suite Shop Limited Vinyl LP To Basket £14.99

Ambient Jazz Ensemble Suite Shop Limited Vinyl LP

Eumir Deodato (arranger of Kool & the Gang "Good Times" and Roberta Flack "Killing me Softly") loves Suite Shop. Mojo Magazine compared Suite Shop to Air “Moon Safari”. Ambient Jazz Ensemble is studio project of film and tv music composer Colin Baldry. Colin has been writing music for picture for over 20 years, his work being on most tv channels around the world. He recently composed source music to sit around Clint Mansell's score of Filth starring James McAvoy and written by Irvine Welsh.

Ambient Jazz Ensemble’s Electronic Chill Out sound is inspired by a mix of Brian Eno and Gil Evans with a touch of Bonobo and Cinematic Orchestra with Neil Cowley on keyboards. From the offset “Eyes Wide Open” takes us on a glorious orchestral, slightly jazzy direction. The horns, brass, strings and synths play off each other to create beautiful soundscapes. “The Journey”, showing the funkier side of Suite Shop, flirts with chorale music at its peak. The aptly titled “Quiet Hero” does exactly what it says on the tin: gorgeous tranquility in a Massive Attack “Teardrop” kind of way which then builds in booth mood and intensity climaxing in electronic orchestral heaven, definitely one for festivals, sunsets and rises, epic moments personified. And then we confidently exit the Suite Shop “Never In Doubt” and roll the credits. Writer, Colin Baldry, is not short of Genius!

Suite Shop features Adele's pianist Neil Cowley playing keys on all 10 tracks alongside strings and a brass section featuring Finn Peters who’s played with Bill Frisell, Sam Rivers and DJ Spinna and Dominic Glover on trumpet. His credits include Groove Armada, Orbital, Jocelyn Brown, Paul Weller and many more.

The album was mixed by multi-platinum award winning engineer George Shilling. George has worked with Blur, Mary J Blige, De La Soul, Steve Winwood, Primal Scream and many more. Suite Shop was mastered by Guy Davie - his credits include Fatboy Slim, Four Tet and Calvin Harris, Jon Hopkins, FKA Twigs and Jamie T. And his desk is from EMI Lagos, early 1907s responsible for many Fela Kuti recordings.

Featured Tracks:
Side A
1 Eyes Wide Open
2 Jazz Face
3 Cinematize
4 The Journey
5 I Saw Stars

Side B
1 Hallucinogenic
2 Waiting For Space
3 Quiet Hero
4 Vibration
5 Never In Doubt
Search What Records
Catalogues Index of Artists
Join the What Records Newsletter
Join us on Facebook Tweet Us on Twitter
Best Sellers Latest Releases Pre-Order
Secure Shopping. Visa, Delta, Mastercard, Switch and Solo Accepted
Worldwide Shipping
My Order Design: uc4 About Us Links Contact Legal